Touring Late Models

Carlson, Tifft Claim Oktoberfest Openers

WEST SALEM, Wis. – The opening night of the 43rd Oktoberfest Race Weekend got off to a wild start in both the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models and The Futures Super Late Model events at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.

Steve Carlson, Matt Tifft, Mark Challet, Matt Inglett, Jason Lindvig, and Kyle Stark took home Fest Feature wins.

Bill Niles and Mark Lamoreaux got together as the green flag flew for the 40-lap Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models feature race. Niles would spin to the inside wall while Lamoreaux went and made hard contact with the outside wall.

A total of 11 cars were collected in the wreck including current point leader Shawn Pfaff. Pfaff was in the infield where it was discovered that he got a hole in his radiator.

The race re-started with only 15 cars taking the green flag. Steve Carlson would re-start on the outside of the front row and take the lead over Brad Powell.

Carlson was on a Thursday night drive as the event went caution-free to win the feature event. J. Herbst was second with Brent Kirchner holding off Brad Powell for third. Mike Carlson was fifth.

Todd Korish became the 2012 Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model Championship.

Matt Tifft and Bobby Kendall gave the fans a great show in the Futures 25-lap feature. Kendall would make a move on the inside of Tifft with five laps to go. As the two went down the backstretch, Kendall had to back off to get around the lap car of Darren Wolke.

As the white flag flew, Kendall went on the inside of Tifft going into turn one. The two ran side-by-side with Tifft winning the drag race at the finish line.

The Futures race got off to a wild start when on lap two, Derek Gress made hard contact with the inside wall on the frontstretch. He then came back out and collected Nick Barstad. A melee ensued behind him where it appears that 12 cars were all involved in the accident. All drivers were able to walk away.

Matt Inglett won the North Country Contractors 20-lap Sportsmen feature in a close finish. Steve Bachman got on the inside of Inglett coming out of turn four on the last lap, but it was Inglett at the line by half a car length for the win. Greg Scheck was third with Jake Arneson in fourth. Chad Rosendahl rounded out the top five. Randy Humfeld won the 2012 track championship.

The United Auto Supply Thunderstox feature had a wild finish, as Jordan Myers and Adam Moore were side-by-side on the last lap battling for the lead. As the two were in turns three and four, they touched and both started to spin. Mark Challet went on the outside of the two to win the event.

Only five points separated Dakota Miller and Tom Luethe for the season championship. The two got together with two laps to go causing Miller to spin going down the backstretch. Miller wasn’t able to continue while Luethe was sent to the rear. Leuthe won the championship by three points.

Jason Lindvig and Kim Strum put on a show in the Window World Hornets feature. Strum got up alongside Lindvig on lap 4 and the two ran by side-by-side for the final 11 laps of the feature event.

On the last lap, Strum appeared to get a little loose coming off of turn two which gave Lindvig a half a car length as they went down the backstretch. Lindvig would take the checkers with Strum holding on to second over Nick Schmidt. Mark Bornitz was fourth with Dan Linnehan in fifth. Mark Bornitz won the track championship.

Kyle Stark held off a large field of cars to win the Double-O race. Brad Warthan was second with Mark Bornitz in third.

Posted by on Oct 5 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!