Touring Late Models

Clark Is First Repeat Winner In PASS North

SCARBOROUGH, Maine — Cassius Clark became the first two-time winner of the 2013 Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model season Saturday night, outdueling future New England Hall of Famer Mike Rowe to win the Southern Maine Motors 150 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

“It’s a lot of fun racing for the win with Mike Rowe,” Clark said. “Thanks to the Hights for the opportunity to drive for them, and to Brian and the guys for putting a great car underneath me.”

Clark prevailed in the season-opening 150-lapper at Oxford Plains Speedway, and entered the Beech Ridge event ranked third in PASS North driver points. Clark and Rowe swapped the top positions several times throughout the race after getting by early race leaders Martin Latulippe and Joey Doiron.

Quebec invader Latulippe, who turned in the quickest lap of the event, swapped the early lead with Rowe, as Doiron made it a three-car battle. It took Clark several laps to work his way into contention with the early frontrunners, after starting alongside D.J. Shaw in row six on the starting grid, the best slot available to previous 2013 race winners.

Once Clark got by Latulippe it was Rowe versus Clark, challenged briefly by the reigning series champion, third-place finisher Travis Benjamin, or fourth-place finisher Doiron.

Rowe, running weekly in NASCAR Nites action at Beech Ridge for 10-time championship-winning car owner Dickie Fowler, settled for runner-up honors in the PASS special event at his adopted home track.

Benjamin, the second-ranked PASS North driver entering the night’s action, finished on the podium in third, and lost a little ground in the championship bout.

Doiron posted his fourth top-five finish in four PASS North SLM events this season. He remains atop the championship standings, still seeking his first win of the season.

Corey Bubar looked quick in the late stages of the 150 to claim the final top-five finishing position.

The finish:

Cassius Clark, Mike Rowe, Travis Benjamin, Joey Doiron, Corey Bubar, Scott Mulkern, D.J. Shaw, Dave Farrington Jr., Tony Ricci, Johnny Clark, Scott Dragon, Kelly Moore, Kevin Powell, Curtis Gerry, Ben Rowe, Martin Latulippe, Chad Dow, Gary Smith, Aaron Ricker, Matt Matheson, Bryan Kruczek, J.T. Thurlow, Mike Landry, Brad Babb, David Oliver.

Posted by on Jul 7 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!