Touring Late Models

Hirschman Stays Hot In New York

TIOGA CENTER, N.Y. – Matt Hirschman extended his hot streak in the Race of Champions Pavement Modified Series Sunday afternoon by winning the 75 lap event at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway.

The second generation driver from Northampton, Pa., collected his third-consecutive RoC win in 2012 and his second win at Shangri-La II.

The first of only two cautions flew on lap one as Kyle Ebersole and Erick Rudolph got together in turn two. Ebersole brushed the turn two wall, while Rudolph spun to the infield. Both were able to continue.

T.J. Potrzebowski, Jim Storace, Andy Walko, J.R. Kent and Hirschman set out to distance themselves from the field by pulling away from the main pack of cars.

Hirschman moved by Walko for fourth on lap six. On lap 13, Hirschman passed Kent for third and went to work on Storace. Meanwhile, Jimmy Zacharias, who had advanced from his tenth place start to the sixth spot began to make his charge passing Walko for fifth.

A power move to the inside of turn three moved Hirschman past Storace who did not see it coming. Hirschman took the lead two laps later passing Potrzebowski in turn four.

The caution flew later on lap 19 when Ebersole and Daren Scherer made slight contact. Scherer spun the car and had to pit to replace his right rear tire.

Zacharias was up to third on the restart and focused on the front, eventually taking second from Potrzebowski on lap 25.

Zacharias, whose home track is Shangri-La II, used every bit of the experience he has gained at the concrete high banks to try and run down Hirschman. Zacharias had narrowed the gap from 1.8 seconds to just three tenths of a second, but in doing so, he used up his left rear tire. Ebersole, closed the gap between himself and Zacharias in traffic, passed Zacharias on lap sixty two.

Try as he might, Zacharias had used up his gear, and had nothing much left to challenge the drivers with. Hirschman collected his second career Shangri-La II Modified feature win with Ebersole second. Jimmy Zacharias was third with Andy Walko finishing fourth and T.J. Potrzebowski completing the top five.

Zacharias didn’t go home winless through after picking up the victory in the companion sportsman feature. Jeff Goodwin won for the third time this season in the street stocks, while Brandon Ameigh outlasted brother Jeff for the four-cylinder victory.

SPEED SPORT Magazine “digital edition” now available for iPad and iPhone!

Get one year for just $12.99. Single issues (including back issues) are available for $2.99.
Click here to visit the iTunes App Store for details!


Posted by on Jul 30 2012 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!