Touring Late Models

MacDonald Claims Governor’s Cup

Eddie MacDonald won Sunday's Governor's Cup ACT late model race at Lee USA Speedway. (Eric LeFleche photo)

Eddie MacDonald won Sunday’s Governor’s Cup ACT late model race at Lee USA Speedway. (Eric LeFleche photo)

LEE, N.H. — Eddie MacDonald claimed the American Canadian Tour win in the New Hampshire Governor’s Cup 150 at Lee USA Speedway Sunday.

MacDonald used strategy to claim his first career ACT win at Lee in his ninth start at the three-eighths-mile speedway. It was his fifth career ACT Late Model win.

MacDonald went from sixth to first in his heat race to claim the win and the pole in the feature. MacDonald faded back early from the drop of the green. He fell as far as 10th and appeared to ride for the majority of the event.

Ray Parent got around Ben Lynch on lap four to take over the lead. He was quickly reeled in by Stephane Descoste. The two battled with Descoste finally getting the advantage on lap 34. Descoste would hold the lead until the first caution flag flew for a Brian Hoar spin on lap 63. Parent used the outside lane to his advantage and took the lead on the ensuing restart. After another brief caution for a minor spin on lap 71, it looked like the remainder of the race would go caution free as Parent built a sizable lead.

After the 100-lap mark, MacDonald came to life and worked his way back toward the front. He worked his way around Joey Polewarczyk Jr. and Descoste to get to second but with ten laps to go it didn’t look like he had enough time. MacDonald had saved enough tire, however, and with five laps to go he reached Parent’s rear bumper while they worked through lap traffic.

MacDonald got the outside lane advantage with four laps remaining as they barreled into turn one. Between turns one and two, Parent got loose and slid up the track into MacDonald. Parent tried to save it but spun for the third and final caution of the event.

On the final restart, MacDonald held off Polewarczyk to take the win. Wayne Helliwell Jr. completed the podium, while Alex Labbe and Descoste rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Eddie MacDonald, Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Wayne Helliwell Jr., Alex Labbe, Stephane Descoste, Jimmy Hebert, Ben Ashline, Ben Lynch, Bobby Therrien, Rowland Robinson Jr., Travis Fadden, Emily Packard, Ray Parent, Glen Luce, Aaron Fellows, Brian Tagg, Luke Hinkley, Travis Stearns, Jonathan Bouvrette, Matt Anderson, Corey Mason, Jeremy Harclerode, Brian Hoar, James Linardy, Mike Ziter, Lance Allen, Brandon Lambert, Dave Farrington Jr., Nick Sweet, Jeff White.



Posted by on Apr 14 2014 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Top Stories, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!