Touring Late Models

Papini Rolls To Rockford Glory

Alex Papini won Sunday’s Big 8 Late Model Series during the 36th annual Spring Classic at Rockford (Ill.) Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski photo)

ROCKFORD, Ill. — Alex Papini held off a stellar field of Big 8 Late Models en route to his first series victory Sunday afternoon at the Rockford Speedway.

Papini, who started on the pole position for the 108 lap main event, would lead from start to finish, despite numerous challenges from 2011 Spring Classic winner Dale Nottestad.

Nottestad would finish in the runnerup spot, ahead of two-time Spring Classic champ Steve Rubeck.

Two-time Jefferson Speedway champion Casey Johnson would finish fourth, while defending Rockford Speedway champion Jerry Gille rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Alex Papini, Dale Nottestad, Steve Rubeck, Casey Johnson, Jerry Gille, Jon Reynolds Jr., Steve Apel, Dan Lensing, Kyle Jarlsberg, Ryan Miles, Rich Schumann Jr., Steve Dobbratz, Jacob Vanoskey, Austin Nason, Eddie May, Mike Ehde, Wayne Freimund, J. Herbst, Steve McBride, Ryan Carlson, Jesse Bernhagen, Darren Wolke, Bob Wilberg, Danny Church.


Posted by on Apr 15 2013 Filed under Latest Headlines, Stock Cars, Top Stories, Touring Late Models. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Join our mailing list to receive the Daily News Update, Special Offers from NSSN or our trusted partners, or BOTH! You can opt-out anytime and we promise not to spam you!

Please Support NSSN’s Sponsors

Follow NSSN On Facebook!